NCHSAA releases 2nd draft of 2021-25 realignment plan. How many changes have been made to local conferences?

By Richard Walker

The North Carolina High School Athletic Association released its second draft of the realignment plan for schools that will begin with the 2021-22 school year.

On Thursday, the NCHSAA revealed some changes to its original December 2020 realignment plans.

In Cleveland, Gaston and Lincoln counties, three of the six leagues have had minor changes with the addition of one school to previously proposed leagues.

Meanwhile, three proposed leagues remain unchanged.

In nearby Rutherford and Mecklenburg counties, there also have been some changes.

Here are the second draft proposals for memberships of each league involving local teams (with changes to the first draft listed):

Conference 39 1A/2A
1A – Christ the King, Langtree Charter, Mountain Island Charter, Piedmont Community Charter, 2A – Community School of Davidson, Lincoln Charter, Pine Lake Prep (no changes)

Conference 40 1A/2A
1A – Bessemer City, Cherryville, Highland Tech, Thomas Jefferson, 2A – Burns, East Gaston, Huss, Shelby (Thomas Jefferson was added from Conference 41 as that is no longer a 1A/2A conference)

Conference 41 2A
Brevard, Chase, East Rutherford, Hendersonville, Patton, Polk County, R-S Central (Patton was added from Conference 42 1A/2A and the league is no longer 1A/2A with Thomas Jefferson being sent to Conference 41 and Rosman being sent to Conference 42)

Conference 45 2A
Bandys, Bunker Hill, East Burke, Lincolnton, Maiden, Newton-Conover, West Caldwell, West Lincoln (West Caldwell was added from Conference 42 1A/2A)

Conference 4A 3A
Carson, Central Cabarrus, Concord, East Rowan, Lake Norman Charter, Northwest Cabarrus, South Rowan, West Rowan (no changes)

Conference 49 4A
Berry Academy, Harding, Kell, Myers Park, Olympic, South Meck (Myers Park added from Conference 59 and no longer a 3A/4A conference as West Charlotte and West Meck sent to Conference 60)

Conference 50 3A
Ashbrook, Cramer, Crest, Forestview, Kings Mountain, North Gaston, South Point (no changes)

Conference 51 3A
East Lincoln, Foard, Hickory, North Iredell, North Lincoln, St. Stephens, Statesville, West Iredell (no changes)

Conference 59 4A
Butler, Catholic, East Meck, Garinger, Independence, Providence, Rocky River (Garinger added from Conference 60 and Myers Park sent to Conference 49)

Conference 60 3A/4A
3A – West Charlotte, West Meck, 4A – Hopewell, Hough, Mallard Creek, North Meck, Vance/Chambers (Now a 3A/4A conference as West Charlotte and West Meck added from Conference 49 and Garinger sent to Conference 59)

Changes were made after schools filed appeals by Jan. 8 to create a second draft.

The deadline to appeal the second draft is Jan. 21.

NCHSAA will finalize league classification and league placements for the 2021-22 school year through the 2024-25 school year in March.