Can Corey Seager become North Carolina’s 18th American Legion product to win a World Series?

By Richard Walker

Former Kannapolis Post 115 standout Corey Seager was a key figure in leading the Los Angeles Dodgers back from a 3-1 series deficit against the Atlanta Braves to win the National League Championship Series four games to three.

Seager, who played for Post 115 from 2010 to 2012, hit .310 with five home runs and 11 RBIs and was named NLCS most valuable player.

Now he seeks to become the 18th North Carolina Legion product to become a World Series champion.

Ray Scarborough, who pitched for Troy’s Legion team in 1933, was the first to win a World Series title with the New York Yankees in 1952.

Other World Series winners have been Charlotte Post 9’s Whitey Lockman and Mecklenburg County’s Hoyt Wilhelm (1954 New York Giants), Durham Post 7’s Roger Craig (1955 Brooklyn Dodgers, 1959 Los Angeles Dodgers, 1964 St. Louis Cardinals), Gastonia Post 23’s George Wilson (1956 New York Yankees), Shelby Post 82’s Smokey Burgess (1960 Pittsburgh Pirates), Gastonia Post 23’s Harold Stowe (1961 New York Yankees), Winston-Salem Post 128’s Don Cardwell and Massey Hill’s Cal Koonce (1969 New York Mets), Ahoskie Post 102’s Jim “Catfish” Hunter (1972, 1973 and 1974 Oakland Athletics, 1977 and 1978 New York Yankees), Paw Creek Post 353’s Dickie Noles (1980 Philadelphia Phillies), Hamlet Post 49’s Franklin Stubbs (1988 Los Angeles Dodgers), Wilmington Post 10’s Trot Nixon (2004 Boston Red Sox), Caldwell County Post 29’s Madison Bumgarner (2010, 2012 and 2014 San Francisco Giants), McDowell Post 56’s Greg Holland (2015 Kansas City Royals), Gastonia Post 23’s Jake Buchanan (2016 Chicago Cubs) and Gastonia Post 23’s Tyler White (2017 Houston Astros).

The opening game of the 2020 World Series between Seager and the Dodgers and the Tampa Bay Rays begins Tuesday night.