×

American Legion baseball update (thru May 21)

N.C. Area IV 2023

Missing schedules: Caldwell, Mint Hill, Lincoln

(Standings through May 21)

Area IV standings
Eastern Division Division Overall/Playoffs
Gaston Post 144-266 0-0 0-0/0-0
Gastonia Post 23 0-0 1-3/0-0
Matthews Post 235 0-0 0-1/0-0
Mint Hill Post 555 0-0 0-0/0-0
Lincoln County Post 455 0-0 0-0/0-0
Queen City 0-0 0-0/0-0

Western Division Division Overall/Playoffs
Burke County Post 21 1-0 1-0/0-0
Rutherford County Post 423 1-0 1-0/0-0
Asheville Post 70 0-0 0-0/0-0
Caldwell County Post 29 0-0 0-0/0-0
Cherryville Post 100 0-0 2-0/0-0
Cleveland County Post 82-155 0-1 1-1/0-0
Hickory Post 48 0-1 1-2/0-0

Regular-season games:

x-non-division games
(All games at 7 p.m. unless otherwise noted)

Tuesday, May 16
No games scheduled

Wednesday, May 17
x-Hickory at Gastonia (H 6-5)

Thursday, May 18
x-Gastonia at Hickory (G 13-4)

Friday, May 19
No games scheduled

Saturday, May 20
x-Gastonia at Cleveland (C 7-1)
x-Matthews at Cherryville (C 6-2)

Sunday, May 21
x-Cherryville at Gastonia (C 11-0)
Cleveland at Rutherford (R 7-6 in 9)
Hickory at Burke (B 3-2)

Monday, May 22
x-Gaffney, S.C. at Cleveland
x-GBraves at Hickory

Tuesday, May 23
x-Cleveland at Gastonia
x-Lincoln at Hickory
x-Matthews at Kannapolis

Wednesday, May 24
Burke at Rutherford
x-Cleveland at GBraves
x-Queen City at Cherryville

Thursday, May 25
x-Cherryville at Queen City
Gastonia at GBraves

Friday, May 26
x-Lincoln at Burke
x-Queen City at Cleveland, ppd., no date

Saturday, May 27
Asheville at Cleveland

Sunday, May 28
Cherryville at Burke
x-Kannapolis at Cleveland, 1 p.m. DH
Mint Hill at Lincoln

Monday, May 29
Asheville at Cherryville
x-Matthews at Mocksville

Tuesday, May 30
x-Cherryville at Gastonia

Wednesday, May 31
Caldwell at Cleveland
Matthews at Queen City

Thursday, June 1
Caldwell at Asheville
x-Cherryville at Rowan

Friday, June 2
Burke at Caldwell
Queen City at Matthews

Saturday, June 3
No games scheduled

Sunday, June 4
Asheville at Hickory
Mint Hill at Matthews

Monday, June 5
x-Burke at GBraves
Queen City at Gastonia

Tuesday, June 6
Asheville at Burke
x-Caldwell at Matthews
Mint Hill at Queen City

Wednesday, June 7
x-GBraves at Caldwell
x-Matthews at Cherryville

Thursday, June 8
Caldwell at Rutherford
x-GBraves at Cherryville
x-Lincoln at Hickory

Friday, June 9
x-Matthews at Fort Mill, S.C.
x-Queen City at Gastonia
(June Classic at Shelby/Cherryville)
x-Cleveland
x-Cherryville

Saturday, June 10
Hickory at Caldwell
(June Classic at Shelby/Cherryville)
x-Cleveland
x-Cherryville

Sunday, June 11
GBraves at Mint Hill
Lincoln at Matthews
Rutherford at Hickory
(June Classic at Shelby)
x-Cleveland
x-Cherryville

Monday, June 12
Cleveland at Cherryville
x-Hickory at GBraves

Tuesday, June 13
Cherryville at Caldwell
Cleveland at Hickory
GBraves at Matthews
Gastonia at Mint Hill
Queen City at Lincoln

Wednesday, June 14
x-Caldwell at GBraves

Thursday, June 15
Asheville at Cleveland
Caldwell at Hickory
Lincoln at Mint Hill
Matthews at Gastonia
Rutherford at Cherryville

Friday, June 16
x-Hamlet at Matthews
(North-South Challenge at Fort Mill, S.C.)
x-Florence, S.C. vs. Cherryville, 5 p.m.
x-Fort Mill, S.C. vs. Cherryville, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 17
Cleveland at Caldwell
Gastonia at Lincoln
x-Lancaster, S.C. at Matthews
Mint Hill at GBraves
x-Mount Airy at Asheville, 2 p.m. DH
Rutherford at Burke
(North-South Challenge at Fort Mill, S.C.)
x-Florence, S.C. vs. Davidson County, 11 a.m.
x-Florence, S.C. vs. Queen City, 1:30 p.m.
x-Rock Hill, S.C. vs. Cherryville, 4 p.m.
x-Fort Mill, S.C. vs. Queen City, 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 18
GBraves at Lincoln
Rutherford at Cleveland
(North-South Challenge at Fort Mill, S.C.)
x-Rock Hill, S.C. vs. Queen City, noon
x-Rock Hill, S.C. vs. Davidson County, 2:30 p.m.
x-Fort Mill, S.C. vs. Davidson County, 5 p.m.

Monday, June 19
Asheville at Caldwell
Burke at Hickory
GBraves at Gastonia
Matthews at Lincoln

Tuesday, June 20
Cherryville at Asheville

Wednesday, June 21
Burke at Cleveland
Cherryville at Rutherford
Hickory at Asheville
Matthews at Mint Hill
Queen City at GBraves, 5 p.m. DH

Thursday, June 22
Burke at Cherryville
x-Matthews at Caldwell

Friday, June 23
Gastonia at Matthews
Hickory at Cherryville
(Randolph County tournament at Asheboro)
x-Cleveland vs. Martinsville, Va., 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 24
Burke at Asheville
Cherryville at Hickory
Lincoln at GBraves
Queen City at Mint Hill
Rutherford at Caldwell
(Randolph County tournament at Asheboro)
x-Cleveland at Randolph, 2 p.m.
x-Cleveland vs. St. Marys, Md., 4:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 25
Caldwell at Burke
Gastonia at Queen City
Hickory at Rutherford
x-Cleveland at Rowan, 1:30 p.m.

Monday, June 26
Cherryville at Cleveland
Lincoln at Gastonia

Tuesday, June 27
Cleveland at Burke
x-Matthews at Hamlet

Wednesday, June 28
Asheville at Rutherford
Caldwell at Cherryville
Hickory at Cleveland
Lincoln at Queen City
Matthews at GBraves
Mint Hill at Gastonia

Thursday, June 29
No games scheduled

Friday, June 30
Area IV pairings meeting

Area IV playoffs:
First round (July 1-5, best of 5)
Quarterfinals (July 6-11, best of 5)
Semifinals (July 12-19, best of 7)
Final (July 20-22, 1 game or best of 3)