×

American Legion baseball update (through May 17)

American Legion 2023

(Standings through May 16)

Area IV standings
Eastern Division Division Overall/Playoffs
Gaston Post 144-266 0-0 0-0/0-0
Gastonia Post 23 0-0 0-1/0-0
Matthews Post 235 0-0 0-0/0-0
Mint Hill Post 555 0-0 0-0/0-0
Lincoln County Post 455 0-0 0-0/0-0
Queen City 0-0 0-0/0-0

Western Division Division Overall/Playoffs
Asheville Post 70 0-0 0-0/0-0
Burke County Post 21 0-0 0-0/0-0
Cherryville Post 100 0-0 0-0/0-0
Rutherford County Post 423 0-0 0-0/0-0
Cleveland County Post 82-155 0-0 0-0/0-0
Caldwell County Post 29 0-0 0-0/0-0
Hickory Post 48 0-0 1-0/0-0

Regular-season games:

x-non-division games
(All games at 7 p.m. unless otherwise noted)

Tuesday, May 16
No games scheduled

Wednesday, May 17
x-Hickory at Gastonia (H 6-5)

Thursday, May 18
x-Gastonia at Hickory

Friday, May 19
No games scheduled

Saturday, May 20
x-Gastonia at Cleveland
x-Lincoln at Burke, 2 p.m.

Sunday, May 21
x-Cherryville at Gastonia
Cleveland at Rutherford
Hickory at Burke

Monday, May 22
No games scheduled

Tuesday, May 23
x-Cleveland at Gastonia

Wednesday, May 24
Burke at Rutherford

Thursday, May 25
Gastonia at GBraves

Friday, May 26
x-Queen City at Cleveland

Saturday, May 27
Asheville at Cleveland

Sunday, May 28
Cherryville at Burke
Hickory at Caldwell
x-Kannapolis at Cleveland, 1 p.m. DH
Mint Hill at Lincoln
Queen City at Huntersville

Monday, May 29
Asheville at Cherryville
Huntersville at GBraves

Tuesday, May 30
x-Cherryville at Gastonia

Wednesday, May 31
Caldwell at Cleveland

Thursday, June 1
Caldwell at Asheville
Mint Hill at Huntersville

Friday, June 2
Burke at Caldwell
Matthews at Queen City

Saturday, June 3
No games scheduled

Sunday, June 4
Asheville at Hickory
GBraves at Queen City
Gastonia at Huntersville
Mint Hill at Matthews

Monday, June 5
Burke at GBraves
Queen City at Gastonia

Tuesday, June 6
Asheville at Burke
Hickory at Cherryville
Lincoln at GBraves
Matthews at Huntersville
Mint Hill at Queen City

Wednesday, June 7
No games scheduled

Thursday, June 8
Caldwell at Rutherford

Friday, June 9
(June Classic at Shelby)
x-Cleveland

Saturday, June 10
(June Classic at Shelby)
x-Cleveland

Sunday, June 11
GBraves at Mint Hill
Hickory at Rutherford
Huntersville at Lincoln
Lincoln at Matthews
Rutherford at Hickory
(June Classic at Shelby)
x-Cleveland

Monday, June 12
Cleveland at Cherryville

Tuesday, June 13
Cherryville at Caldwell
Cleveland at Hickory
GBraves at Matthews
Gastonia at Mint Hill
Queen City at Lincoln

Wednesday, June 14
No games scheduled

Thursday, June 15
Asheville at Cleveland
Caldwell at Hickory
Huntersville at Queen City
Lincoln at Mint Hill
Matthews at Gastonia
Rutherford at Cherryville

Friday, June 16
(North-South Challenge at Fort Mill, S.C.)
x-Florence, S.C. vs. Cherryville, 5 p.m.
x-Fort Mill, S.C. vs. Cherryville, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 17
Cleveland at Caldwell
GBraves at Huntersville
Gastonia at Lincoln
x-Mount Airy at Asheville, 2 p.m. DH
Queen City at Matthews
Rutherford at Burke
(North-South Challenge at Fort Mill, S.C.)
x-Florence, S.C. vs. Davidson County, 11 a.m.
x-Florence, S.C. vs. Queen City, 1:30 p.m.
x-Rock Hill, S.C. vs. Cherryville, 4 p.m.
x-Fort Mill, S.C. vs. Queen City, 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 18
Rutherford at Cleveland
(North-South Challenge at Fort Mill, S.C.)
x-Rock Hill, S.C. vs. Queen City, noon
x-Rock Hill, S.C. vs. Davidson County, 2:30 p.m.
x-Fort Mill, S.C. vs. Davidson County, 5 p.m.

Monday, June 19
Asheville at Caldwell
Burke at Hickory
GBraves at Gastonia
Huntersville at Mint Hill
Matthews at Lincoln

Tuesday, June 20
Cherryville at Asheville

Wednesday, June 21
Burke at Cleveland
Cherryville at Rutherford
Hickory at Asheville
Huntersville at Gastonia
Matthews at Mint Hill
Queen City at GBraves

Thursday, June 22
Burke at Cherryville

Friday, June 23
Gastonia at Matthews
(Randolph County tournament at Asheboro)
x-Cleveland vs. Martinsville, Va., 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 24
Burke at Asheville
Cherryville at Hickory
GBraves at Lincoln
Huntersville at Matthews
Queen City at Mint Hill
Rutherford at Caldwell
(Randolph County tournament at Asheboro)
x-Cleveland at Randolph, 2 p.m.
x-Cleveland vs. St. Marys, Md., 4:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 25
Caldwell at Burke
Gastonia at Queen City
Hickory at Rutherford
Lincoln at Huntersville
Mint Hill at GBraves
x-Cleveland at Rowan, 1:30 p.m.

Monday, June 26
Cherryville at Cleveland
Lincoln at Gastonia

Tuesday, June 27
Cleveland at Burke

Wednesday, June 28
Asheville at Rutherford
Caldwell at Cherryville
Hickory at Cleveland
Lincoln at Queen City
Matthews at GBraves
Mint Hill at Gastonia

Thursday, June 29
No games scheduled

Friday, June 30
Area IV pairings meeting

Area IV playoffs:
First round (July 1-5, best of 5)
Quarterfinals (July 6-11, best of 5)
Semifinals (July 12-19, best of 7)
Final (July 20-22, 1 game or best of 3)