7-1-21 roundup: Little League baseball, College baseball, Pro baseball

By Richard Walker

Cherryville’s pursuit of a North Carolina Little League state championship starts on July 10 at the Myers Park field in Charlotte.

Cherryville’s Little League team after winning the District I title earlier this week.

Cherryville, which beat Boiling Springs 10-4 on Tuesday night in the District 1 championship game it hosted, will meet the District 3 champion in its first round game.

Cherryville seeks its first state title since it would back-to-back championships in 1988 and 1989.

Players on this year’s team are Kenan Fowler, Jayden Adams, Kayden Smith, Ryder Dellinger, Landon Sain, Canon Whitesides, Trevor Dalton,
Cole Carpenter, Tristan Towery and Curtis Kester. The head coach is Tyler Sain and his assistants were Tony Owens, Dustin Smith and Jason Sain.

Here’s a list of previous North Carolina Little League state champions:

1947-51 unknown
1952 Mooresville
1953-58 unknown
1959 Forest City
1960 unknown
1961 Charlotte (Dilworth)
1962 Wadesboro
1963 Belmont
1964 Greenville
1965 Winston-Salem
1966 Havelock
1967 Caldwell County
1968 Winston-Salem
1969 Forest City (Cool Springs)
1970 Greenville (Tarheel)
1971 Charlotte (East Meck)
1972 Mint Hill
1973 West Asheville
1974 Clemmons (Southwest Forsyth)
1975 Mint Hill
1976 Mint Hill
1977 Charlotte
1978 Fayetteville (Westover Hills)
1979 Charlotte (Northeast Meck)
1980 Winston-Salem
1981 Clemmons (Southwest Forsyth)
1982 Cliffside (Tri-Community)
1983 Lenoir
1984 Greenville
1985 Clemmons (Southwest Forsyth)
1986 Winston-Salem
1987 Kernersville
1988 Cherryville
1989 Cherryville
1990 Salisbury
1991 Matthews
1992 Matthews
1993 Matthews
1994 Greenville (Tarheel)
1995 Mint Hill
1996 Greenville (Tarheel)
1997 North Durham
1998 Greenville (Tarheel)
1999 Kernersville
2000 Greenville (Tarheel)
2001 Matthews
2002 Clemmons (Southwest Forsyth)
2003 Wilmington
2004 Morganton
2005 Clemmons (Southwest Forsyth)
2006 Greenville (Tarheel)
2007 North Durham
2008 Wilmington (Myrtle Grove Optimist)
2009 Charlotte (Coulwood-Oakdale)
2010 Winston-Salem (National)
2011 Greenville (Tarheel)
2012 Greenville (Tarheel)
2013 Charlotte (Myers Park Trinity)
2014 Clemmons (Southwest Forsyth)
2015 Wilson
2016 Durham (Bull City)
2017 Greenville (North State)
2018 Greenville (North State)
2019 Wilson
2020 cancelled/coronavirus


College baseball

Former Crest High baseball standout was named Thursday to the CoSIDA Academic All-District 3 First-Team.

Former Crest High standout Matt Bridges pitching for East Carolina. [ecupirates.com photo]
A 2015 Crest graduate, Bridges just completed his career pitching for East Carolina.

Bridges, who is currently pursuing his MBA, is a 10-time ECU Director of Athletics Honor Roll member and five-time American Athletic Conference All-Academic selection. Bridges graduated with an undergraduate degree in public health studies in May 2020.

He went 5-0 with five saves and a 2.25 ERA in 29 appearances (one start) this season for the 44-17 Pirates, who advanced to the NCAA super regional at Vanderbilt.

In his career, Bridges went 9-4 with 11 saves in 107 games. A five-year letterman, Bridges ranks second all-time in program history in appearances and helped East Carolina to four NCAA regionals, three Super Regionals, two American Athletic Conference regular season titles and one AAC tournament championship.





Pro baseball

The Gastonia Honey Hunters snapped a three-game losing streak with a 9-4 win over Southern Maryland on Thursday at Caromont Health Park.

Gastonia (13-16) continues the 10-game homestand on Friday at 6:50 p.m. against Southern Maryland.