×

6-19-24 roundup: Pro football, soccer, basketball and baseball, Legion baseball, College baseball, Auto racing

By Richard Walker

After a 3-month offseason program, the Carolina Panthers will take a break before the start of training camp late next month.

Bryce Young

And 1st-year head coach Dave Canales thinks he has laid a foundation for improvement.

Of course, following 6 straight losing streaks including last year’s low-water 2-15 record, the bar isn’t extraordinarily high.

Considered a “quarterback whisperer” following his work with Geno Smith in Seattle and Baker Mayfield in Tampa Bay, Panthers owner David Tepper and general manager Dan Morgan are banking on Canales having a positive impact on 2023 No. 1 overall pick Bryce Young.

In the recent 2-day mandatory minicamp last week, Young appeared to show a chemistry with wide receiver Diontae Johnson.

Johnson, one of the top offseason additions (trade acquisition from the Pittsburgh Steelers), caught several passes among them TD throws and looked very much like a top option for a quarterback who struggled mightily in his rookie season.

Camp observers say Young looked confident that he did last season and the plan will be for his connection to Johnson to carry over to what he already has developed with Panthers’ veterans Adam Thielen, Ian Thomas and Terrace Marshall, Jr.

 

 

 

 

 

Legion baseball

Here are the current NCALB statewide rankings by Don Hines (as of June 18):

1. Wilson Post 13 12-3
2. Wayne County Post 11 14-6
3. Garner Nationals 12-4
4. High Point Post 87 10-2
5. Hamlet Post 49 10-4
6. Wilmington Post 10 8-2
7. Rutherford County Post 423 9-3
8. Cherryville Post 100 14-4
9. Tabor City Post 507 5-1
10. Wake Forest Post 187 6-2
Honorable mention
Rown County Post 342 8-7

(Wednesday, June 19 Senior Legion games)
Gastonia 3, Caldwell County 0: Starter and winner Elijah Miller (6 innings, 5 strikeouts), reliever Nathan Crawford (1 innings, 2 strikeouts, save), Elijah Cunningham (2 hits, double, 1 RBI) and Camden Kanupp (2 hits) led Gastonia, which recorded its 2nd shutout in a season for the 1st time since 2019.

Cherryville 7, Hickory 5

Rutherford County 10, Gaston Braves 0 (6 innings)

(Thursday, June 20 Senior Legion games)
Burke at GBraves
Cherryville at Caldwell

(Friday, June 21 Senior Legion games)
Gastonia at Hickory
TROY, ALA. POST 70 SUMMER CLASSIC
-at Troy University
Shelby vs. Bellevue, Fla., 7:30 p.m.

(Wednesday, June 19 Junior Legion game)
Shelby 10, Bessemer City 0 (6 innings)

(Thursday, June 20 Junior Legion games)
Cramer at Matthews
Bessemer City at Belmont, 5 p.m. (completion of suspended game then regularly-scheduled game)
Shelby at Cherryville
Gaston Christian at Burns

(Friday, June 21 Junior Legion games)
No games

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pro basketball

The Charlotte Hornets’ California Classic Summer League schedule:

Sat., July 6 vs. San Antonio Spurs, 8:30 p.m. ET
Sun., July 7 vs. Chinese National Team, 8 p.m. ET
Tues., July 9 vs. Sacramento Kings, 10 p.m. ET

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

College baseball

Here’s the full schedule for the 2024 CWS at Charles Schwab Field in in Omaha, Neb.:

(Bracket 1)
No. 4 North Carolina (47–14), No. 8 Florida State (47–15), No. 12 Virginia (45–15), No. 1 Tennessee (55–12)
(Bracket 2)
No. 2 Kentucky (45–14), No. 10 N.C. State (38–21), Florida (43–28), No. 3 Texas A&M (49–13)

-Pool play
(Friday, June 14)
Game 1: No. 4 North Carolina vs. No. 12 Virginia – North Carolina 3-2
Game 2: No. 1 Tennessee vs. No. 8 Florida State – Tennessee 12-11
(Saturday, June 15)
Game 3: No. 2 Kentucky vs. No. 10 N.C. State – Kentucky 5-4 in 10
Game 4: No. 3 Texas A&M vs. Florida – Texas A&M 3-2
(Sunday, June 16)
Game 5: Virginia vs. Florida State – Florida State 7-3
Game 6: North Carolina vs. Tennessee – Tennessee 6-1
(Monday, June 17)
Game 7: N.C. State vs. Florida – Florida 5-4
Game 8: Kentucky vs. Texas A&M – Texas A&M 5-1
(Tuesday, June 18)
Game 9: Florida State vs. North Carolina – Florida State 9-5
(Wednesday, June 19)
Game 10: Florida vs. Kentucky – Florida 15-4
Game 11: Tennessee vs. Florida State – Tennessee 7-2
Game 12: Texas A&M vs. Florida – Texas A&M 6-0
-CWS Finals
(Best-of-3 series: Tennessee vs. Texas A&M)
Game 1: Saturday, June 22, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN)
Game 2: Sunday, June 23, 2 p.m. (ABC)
Game 3 (if necessary): Monday, June 24, 7 p.m. (ESPN)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pro football

Here is the Carolina Panthers’ full 2024 schedule:

(preseason)
Aug. 8 at New England, 7 p.m.
Aug. 17 N.Y. Jets, 7 p.m.
Aug. 24 at Buffalo, 1 p.m.
(regular season)
Sept. 8 at New Orleans, 1 p.m.
Sept. 15 L.A. Chargers, 1 p.m.
Sept. 22 at Las Vegas, 4:05 p.m.
Sept. 29 Cincinnati, 1 p.m.
Oct. 6 at Chicago, 1 p.m.
Oct. 13 Atlanta, 4:25 p.m.
Oct. 20 at Washington, 4:05 p.m.
Oct. 27 at Denver, 4:25 p.m.
Nov. 3 New Orleans, 1 p.m.
Nov. 10 N.Y. Giants (at Munich, Germany), 9:30 a.m.
Nov. 17 BYE
Nov. 24 Kansas City, 1 p.m.
Dec. 1 Tampa Bay, 4:05 p.m.
Dec. 8 at Philadelphia, 1 p.m.
Dec. 15 Dallas, 1 p.m.
Dec. 22 Arizona, 1 p.m.
Dec. 29 at Tampa Bay, 1 p.m.
Jan. 5 at Atlanta, TBD

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pro soccer

Charlotte FC 2, Orlando SC 2: Charlotte FC couldn’t hold 1-0 and 2-1 leads behind goals from Kerwin Vargas and Brandt Branico as Orlando SC responded with equalizers in the 63rd and 81st minute, respectively.

Here is the Charlotte FC 2024 schedule:

(8-6-5 record)
Saturday, Feb 24, New York (W 1-0)
Saturday, Mar 2, at Vancouver (T 1-1)
Saturday, Mar 9, at Toronto (L 0-1)
Saturday, Mar 16, at Nashville (L 1-2)
Saturday, Mar 23, Columbus (W 2-0)
Saturday, Mar 30, Cincinnati (T 1-1)
Saturday, Apr 6, at New England (L 0-1)
Saturday, Apr 13, Toronto (W 3-2)
Sunday, Apr 21, Minnesota (L 0-3)
Saturday, Apr 27, at New York (L 1-2)
Saturday, May 4, Portland (W 2-0)
Saturday, May 11, Nashville (W 1-0)
Wednesday, May 15, at Chicago (W 1-0)
Saturday, May 18, LA Galaxy (T 0-0)
Saturday, May 25, Philadelphia (T 0-0)
Wednesday, May 29, at NY Redbulls (L 1-3)
Sunday, Jun 2, at Atlanta (W 3-2)
Saturday, Jun 15, DC (W 1-0)
Wednesday, Jun 19, Orlando (T 2-2)
Saturday, Jun 22, at Philadelphia, 7:30 PM
Saturday, Jun 29, at Houston, 8:30 PM
Wednesday, Jul 3, Miami, 7:30 PM
Saturday, Jul 13, at Cincinnati, 7:30 PM
Wednesday, Jul 17, at Columbus, 7:30 PM
Saturday, Jul 20, at Austin, 8:30 PM
Saturday, Aug 24, New York Redbulls, 7:30 PM
Saturday, Aug 31, Atlanta, 7:30 PM
Saturday, Sep 14, at Montreal, 7:30 PM
Wednesday, Sep 18, at Orlando, 8 PM
Saturday, Sep 21, New England, 7:30 PM
Saturday, Sep 28, at Miami, 7:30 PM
Wednesday, Oct 2, Chicago, 7:30 PM
Saturday, Oct 5, Montreal, 7:30 PM
Saturday, Oct 19, at DC, 6 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pro baseball

Gastonia 3, High Point 2 (10 innings): For the 2nd straight night, Gastonia records a walkoff extra inning victory over 2nd-place High Point.

Here is the full Gastonia Baseball Club’s 2024 schedule:

Record: 34-15

April (4-3)
25 So. Maryland (L 2-3)
26 So. Maryland (W 7-3)
27 So. Maryland (W 4-2)
28 So. Maryland (W 9-7)
29 York (L 1-2)
30 York (W 9-6, L 7-10)

May (18-8)
3 at Charleston, W.Va. (L 1-2)
4 at Charleston, W.Va. (W 1-0)
5 at Charleston, W.Va. (L 7-8 in 10)
7 at Hagerstown (W 3-1)
8 at Hagerstown (W 5-2)
9 at Hagerstown (L 1-2)
10 at York (W 2-1)
11 at York (L 2-7)
12 at York (W 6-4)
14 Charleston, W.Va. (W 11-7)
15 Charleston, W.Va. (W 19-9)
16 Charleston, W.Va. (W 5-3)
17 Lexington (suspended)
18 Lexington (W 9-1)
19 Lexington (W 2-0)
19 Lexington (L 1-2)
21 at Lancaster (W 8-5)
22 at Lancaster (W 7-4)
23 at Lancaster (W 5-1)
24 So. Maryland (W 8-3)
25 So. Maryland (W 6-5)
26 So. Maryland (L 5-7)
27 So. Maryland (W 4-3)
28 at Long Island (W 9-4)
29 at Long Island (W 5-2)
30 at Long Island (L 1-2)
31 at Staten Island (L 4-6)

June (12-4)
1 at Staten Island (L 0-5)
2 at Staten Island (L 1-3)
4 Staten Island (suspended)
5 Staten Island (W 9-2)
5 Staten Island (W 6-5)
6 Staten Island (W 8-7)
7 Long Island (W 9-3)
8 Long Island (W 6-4)
9 Long Island (W 12-5)
11 at Lexington (W 14-6)
12 at Lexington (W 11-3)
13 at Lexington (L 5-6)
14 at Lexington (L 6-8)
15 at Lexington (W 5-4)
16 at Lexington (W 12-7)
18 High Point (W 7-6 in 10)
19 High Point (W 3-2 in 10)
20 High Point
21 at Charleston, W.Va.
22 at Charleston, W.Va.
23 at Charleston, W.Va.
25 High Point
26 High Point
27 High Point
28 at Lexington
29 at Lexington
30 at Lexington

July
2 at High Point
3 at High Point
4 at High Point
5 Lexington
6 Lexington
7 Lexington
9 at Charleston, W.Va.
10 at Charleston, W.Va.
11 at Charleston, W.Va.
12 at Lexington
13 at Lexington
14 at Lexington
16 So. Maryland
17 So. Maryland
18 So. Maryland
19 at Charleston, W.Va.
20 at Charleston, W.Va.
21 at Charleston, W.Va.
23 at High Point
24 at High Point
25 at High Point
26 Charleston, W.Va.
27 Charleston, W.Va.
28 Charleston, W.Va.
30 at High Point
31 at High Point

August
1 at High Point
2 Lexington
3 Lexington
4 Lexington
6 High Point
7 High Point
8 High Point
9 at So. Maryland
10 at So. Maryland
11 at So. Maryland
13 at High Point
14 at High Point
15 at High Point
16 Lexington
17 Lexington
18 Lexington
20 at High Point
21 at High Point
22 at High Point
23 Lexington
24 Lexington
25 Lexington
27 High Point
28 High Point
29 High Point
30 Hagerstown
31 Hagerstown

September
1 Hagerstown
2 Hagerstown
3 at So. Maryland
4 at So. Maryland
5 at So. Maryland
6 at So. Maryland
7 at So. Maryland
8 at So. Maryland
10 Charleston, W.Va.
11 Charleston, W.Va.
12 Charleston, W.Va.
13 Charleston, W.Va.
14 Charleston, W.Va.
15 Charleston, W.Va.

Charlotte 9, Gwinnett 3: The Knights’ 5-run 3rd inning allowed them to take a 2nd straight win over Gwinnett in the 6-game home series. Charlotte had 13 hits as it improved to 30-40 overall entering Thursday’s 3rd game of the series that begins at 7:04 p.m. at Truist Field.

Here is the Charlotte Knights 2024 schedule:

Record (30-40)
March 29-31 at Memphis (1-2 – L 5-6, L 3-10, W 6-2)
April 2-7 Norfolk (1-5 – L 6-10, L 11-26, L 8-9, L 10-11 in 10, L 1-13, W 6-2)
April 9-14 at Jacksonville (3-3 – L 1-4, L 1-2, W 6-2, L 5-7, W 11-2, W 9-4)
April 16-21 Syracuse (3-2 – L 2-9, W 4-2, W 5-4, W 5-1, L 6-11 in 10, ccd.)
April 23-28 at Lehigh Valley (4-2 – W 5-4, W 5-3, L 6-7, W 6-4 in 10, L 4-8, W 6-3 in 10)
April 30-May 5 Memphis (1-5 – W 4-3, L 3-7, L 1-5, L 0-5, L 2-9, L 6-7 in 10)
May 7-12 at Gwinnett (2-4 – L 4-7, W 8-1, L 1-2, L 2-4, W 6-2, L 4-6)
May 14-19 Durham (4-2 – W 12-11 in 10, ppd., L 3-4, W 5-2, L 5-10, W 5-3, W 8-0)
May 21-26 at Nashville (1-5 – L 3-10, ppd., L 2-6, L 1-2, L 3-4, L 3-5, W 4-3)
May 28-June 2 Worcester (3-3 – W 9-4, L 2-5, L 1-4, L 4-13, W 7-5, W 3-1)
June 4-9 Jacksonville (2-4 – ppd, L 1-2, W 3-2 in 8, W 14-9, L 4-10, L 2-7, L 4-7)
June 11-16 at Durham (3-3 – W 8-6 in 10, L 0-7, L 3-4 in 10, L 2-5, W 6-4, W 2-0)
June 18-23 Gwinnett (2-0 – W 4-3 in 10, W 9-3 in 10)
June 25-30 at Norfolk
July 1-3 at Jacksonville
July 4-6 Jacksonville
July 9-14 Durham
July 19-21 at Gwinnett
July 23-28 at Nashville
July 30-Aug. 4 Norfolk
Aug. 6-11 at Louisville
Aug. 13-18 Toledo
Aug. 20-25 at Memphis
Aug. 27-Sept. 1 Nashville
Sept. 3-8 at Norfolk
Sept. 10-15 Jacksonville
Sept. 17-22 at Syracuse

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Auto racing

Here is the 2024 NASCAR schedule with date, race and site and winners in parentheses:

Sat. Feb. 3 Busch Light Clash at the Coliseum, LA Memorial Coliseum (Danny Hamlin)
Thu. Feb. 15 Bluegreen Vacations Duel 1 at Daytona, Daytona Intl Speedway (Tyler Redick)
Thu. Feb. 15 Bluegreen Vacations Duel 2 at Daytona, Daytona Intl Speedway (Christopher Bell)
Mon. Feb. 19 Daytona 500, Daytona International Speedway (William Byron)
Sun. Feb. 25 Ambetter Health 400, Atlanta Motor Speedway (Daniel Suarez)
Sun. Mar. 3 Pennzoil 400, Las Vegas Motor Speedway (Kyle Larson)
Sun. Mar. 10 Shriners Children’s 500, Phoenix Raceway (Bell-2)
Sun. Mar. 17 Food City 500, Bristol Motor Speedway (Hamlin-2)
Sun. Mar. 24 EchoPark Automotive Grand Prix, Circuit of the Americas (Byron-2)
Sun. Mar. 31 Toyota Owners 400, Richmond Raceway (Hamlin-3)
Sun. Apr. 7 Cook Out 400, Martinsville Speedway (Byron-3)
Sun. Apr. 14 AutoTrader EchoPark Automotive 400, Texas Motor Speedway (Chase Elliott)
Sun. Apr. 21 GEICO 500, Talladega Superspeedway (Tyler Reddick)
Sun. Apr. 28 Wurth 400, Dover Motor Speedway (Hamlin-4)
Sun. May 5 AdventHealth 400, Kansas Speedway (Larson-2)
Sun. May 12 Goodyear 400, Darlington Raceway (Brad Keselowski)
Sun. May 19 NASCAR All-Star Open, North Wilkesboro Speedway (Ty Gibbs)
Sun. May 19 NASCAR All-Star Open, North Wilkesboro Speedway (Joey Logano)
Sun. May 26 Coca-Cola 600, Charlotte Motor Speedway (Bell-2)
Sun. June 2 Enjoy Illinois 300, World Wide Technology Raceway (Austin Cindric)
Sun. June 9 Toyota/Save Mart 350, Sonoma Raceway (Larson-3)
Sun. June 16 Iowa Corn 350, Iowa Speedway (Ryan Blaney)
Sun. June 23 Cup Series race at New Hampshire, New Hampshire Motor Speedway 2:30 p.m.USA/PRN
Sun. June 30 Ally 400, Nashville Superspeedway 3:30 p.m.NBC/PRN
Sun. July 7 Grant Park 165, Chicago Street Course 4:30 p.m.NBC/MRN
Sun. July 14 Cup Series Race at Pocono, Pocono Raceway 2:30 p.m.USA/MRN
Sun. July 21 Brickyard 400, Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2:30 p.m.NBC/IMS
Sun. Aug. 11 Cook Out 400, Richmond Raceway 6 p.m. USA/MRN
Sun. Aug. 18 FireKeepers Casino 400, Michigan International Raceway 2:30 p.m.USA/MRN
Sat. Aug. 24 Coke Zero Sugar 400, Daytona International Speedway 7:30 p.m.NBC/MRN
Sun. Sept. 1 Cook Out Southern 500, Darlington Raceway 6 p.m. USA/MRN
(NASCAR playoff race schedule 2024)
Sun. Sept. 8 Quaker State 400, Atlanta Motor Speedway 3 p.m. USA/PRN
Sun. Sept. 15 Go Bowling at the Glen, Watkins Glen International 3 p.m. USA/MRN
Sat. Sept. 21 Bass Pro Shops Night Race, Bristol Motor Speedway 7:30 p.m.USA/PRN
Sun. Sept. 29 Hollywood Casino 400, Kansas Speedway 3 p.m. USA/PRN
Sun. Oct. 6 YellaWood 500, Talladega Superspeedway 2 p.m. NBC/MRN
Sun. Oct. 13 Bank of America Roval 400, Charlotte Motor Speedway Road Course 2 p.m. NBC/PRN
Sun. Oct. 20 South Point 400, Las Vegas Motor Speedway 2:30 p.m.NBC/PRN
Sun. Oct. 27 Cup Series race at Homestead-Miami, Homestead-Miami Speedway 2:30 p.m.NBC/MRN
Sun. Nov. 3 XFINITY 500, Martinsville Speedway 2 p.m. NBC/MRN
Sun. Nov. 10 NASCAR Cup Series Championship, Phoenix Raceway 3 p.m. NBC/MRN

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Baseball camp

Tyler White, a former Gastonia American Legion Post 23 and Gastonia Grizzlies Coastal Plain League star who played 4 years in the major leagues for the Houston Astros, is holding a hitting camp this summer:

Tyler White’s camp will be held at R-S Central High School July 22-26 from 8-10 a.m. for ages 16 and up. Cost is $250 for the 10-hour weekly session.

Tyler White also is available for individual lessons by appointment for ages 12 and up from 10 a.m.-noon for $100 per hour. For information, call or text Brian White (828-429-1468).

 

 

 

 

 

Basketball camps

Belmont Abbey College will be holding camps this summer for boys and girls ages 7 to 16. The dates are as follows:
Day Camp – Monday, June 24 – Thursday, June 27 (9 a.m.-4 p.m.)
Day Camp – Monday, July 8 – Thursday, July 11 (9 a.m.-4 p.m.)
For more information, check with www.davidbelfieldbasketballcamps.com

Chip Ashley, Director of the Denver Nuggets Travel Basketball teams, announces the dates for the 28th annual basketball camps at East Lincoln High School:
June 24-27, July 8-11 with 7th-10th Graders 8:30 a.m. to noon and 2nd-6th Graders 1-4 p.m. for boys and girls rising 2nd-10th grade at East Lincoln High School.
Preregister $85, Day of Camp $95 (If you would like to come to multiple camps, it’s $160 if you pre-register and there is a $10 discount for families with two children enrolled in the camps)
Applications can be sent electronically by emailing Coach Chip Ashley at [email protected]